Allo' Expat Falkland Island - Connecting Expats in Falkland Island
Main Homepage
Allo' Expat Falkland Island Logo

Subscribe to Allo' Expat Newsletter
Check our Rates
   Information Center Falkland Island
Falkland Island General Information
History of Falkland Island
Falkland Island Culture
Falkland Island Cuisine
Falkland Island Geography
Falkland Island Population
Falkland Island Government
Falkland Island Economy
Falkland Island Communications
Falkland Island Transportations
Falkland Island Military
Falkland Island Transnational Issues
Falkland Island Healthcare
Falkland Island People, Language & Religion
Falkland Island Expatriates Handbook
Falkland Island and Foreign Government
Falkland Island General Listings
Falkland Island Useful Tips
Falkland Island Education & Medical
Falkland Island Travel & Tourism Info
Falkland Island Lifestyle & Leisure
Falkland Island Business Matters
  Sponsored Links

Check our Rates

Falkland Island Government


Executive authority on the Falkland Islands is vested in Queen Elizabeth II, who has been the head of state since her accession to the British throne on 6 February 1952. As the Queen is absent from the islands for most of the time, executive authority is exercised "in Her Majesty's name and on Her Majesty's behalf" by the Governor of the Falkland Islands.

The Governor normally only acts on the advice of the Executive Council of the Falkland Islands, which is comprised of three Members of the Legislative Assembly elected by the Assembly to serve on the Council every year, the Chief Executive, the Director of Finance and the Governor, who acts as presiding officer. The constitution does permit the Governor to act without the consulting the Executive Council and even go against its instructions, but in both cases the Governor must immediately inform the Secretary of State for Foreign and Commonwealth Affairs in the United Kingdom, who can overrule the Governor's actions.

Government policy and the execution thereof is primarily decided by the Chief Executive of the Falkland Islands who is the head of the public service, responsible for the efficient and effective management of the executive, acting as the islands' head of government. The Chief Executive is appointed by the Governor on the advice of the Executive Council.

The legislative branch consists of a unicameral Legislative Assembly. General elections must take place at least once every four years, in which the islanders elect eight members to the Legislative Assembly (five from Stanley and three from Camp). There are also two ex officio members of the Assembly (the Chief Executive and the Director of Finance) who take part in proceedings but are not permitted to vote in the Assembly.

Until 2009, when the new constitution came into force and created the Legislative Assembly, the legislature of the islands was the Legislative Council, which had existed since the 19th century.

The judicial branch consists of the Supreme Court, the Court of Appeal, the Summary Court and the Magistrates' Court. The judiciary is strictly independent of the executive and legislature, although it has links with the other branches of the government through the Advisory Committee on the Prerogative of Mercy. The government also employs five lawyers; the Attorney General, Principal Crown Counsel, Senior Crown Counsel, Crown Counsel and a Legislative Drafter.


Country name :
conventional long form: none
conventional short form: Falkland Islands (Islas Malvinas)

Dependency status :
overseas territory of the UK; also claimed by Argentina

Government type :

See more information on the next page... (next)




copyrights ©
2017 | Policy